Skip to content

>Sharing the Love: And the award goes to…

August 4, 2010

>My new writing-buddies, Elizabeth over a The Writer Revived, AND The Drama Mama over at The Scoop on Poop each surprised me with an award! Wasn’t that nice??? My very first blog awards…


We three all met (I think) getting a wacky-kick out of The Red Dress Club fiction writing memes. Elizabeth and I both did time in corporate communications, in a past life. It was incredibly kind of them to pass along these awards to me, but there are strings attached.

Thank and link back to the person who gave me this award.

Share seven things about myself.

Pass the award along to bloggers who I have recently discovered and think are fantastic for whatever reason! (In no particular order.)

Contact the bloggers I’ve picked and let them know about the award.

Hmmm…seven things about myself that I haven’t already blabbed about on this blog. Tricky. Here goes:

1. I’m afraid of birds, especially geese and chickens. They are evil, pecky, badness.
2. I organize my closet by sleeve length.
3. I totally and utterly despise cantaloupe.
4. I was born in the shadow of the Blue Ridge Mountains.
5. I don’t eat anything that is cold and slimy. No pudding. No custard. Sushi is a very recent breakthrough and requires a large glass of white wine.
6. I am desperately in need of a pedicure.
7. I have an aptitude for animal noises, especially turkey, horse and goat.

There. Now you know my deepest, darkest secrets. And, so, we come to the bit where I tell you about my favorite bloggy people and pass along these lovely awards. I’m not going to put anyone into categories, because, really, they are all lovely blogs and all equally versatile writers and artists. Here we go, in no particular order:

A Collection of This and That: You’ve already read Dayle’s work if you’ve ever read Chicken Soup for the Soul. Her blog is just as good. To boot, she’s as sweet and kind as are the words she writes.

Knit Me Together: Christy is such an encourager and friend, and her blog is insightful and personal.

Emerging Mummy: Because Sarah is so honest, so real, so transparent. “The Intersections of a Spirit-filled life.” The end.

New Dress s Day: This chickie is AHmazing. Oh, what you (or rather, she) can do with a buck and a sewing machine.

In the Hush of the Moon: Emily’s posts are jaw-droppingly beautiful. The words, oh the words.

Gratitude 365: I’ve known Kim since college, and while our lives are running on a parallel path, we rarely intersect. I admire her so much for her courage, her beautiful boys, and she’s a heck of a writer, too. Kim lives a grateful life; it was she who first issued me The Gratitude Challenge, and for that, I’m grateful.

The Truth About Motherhood: Because Debi tells it like it is. “None of the parenting books tell you the truth about mothering. They spin it all around and make it a fairy tale so when reality hits and we are in the trenches of real Mothering, we sometimes feel like absolute failures.”

Tickled Red: Crazy, southern redhead with a heart as big as the sky, shamelessly in love with her surfer husband. Boy mom. Great recipes. The end.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 4:14 pm

    >We have #2 and #6 in common, in addition to everything else! 😉 Congrats on both, well-deserved awards! I see a few new blogs I get to check out from your list. Cool!

  2. August 4, 2010 4:31 pm

    >Well done, and well deserved on the awards. Your bloggy-friends have good taste. 🙂 And thank you so much for the blog nod, honey honey! You are too sweet. I just wish my blog was currently in shape enough for company! Soon, soon…And SLEEVE LENGTH! I almost died laughing! You, my dear, are my inspiration for new, quirky ways to be obsessively organized. Well done on picking things not only new for your blog, but some new to your friends as well. (Oh, and the key to sushi is getting Really Good Sushi. Period.)

  3. August 4, 2010 5:55 pm

    >Congrats on your awards! I think you should receive an award for leaving the most encouraging comments. I need to make a trophy of some kind up.Thank you! So glad you liked the post I had up today about road trips…and that you could relate. Misery loves company…

  4. August 4, 2010 10:12 pm

    >My boys would really, really like to hear your goat noise. It reminds me of the Curious George episode where the Man with the Yellow Hat does frog calls. You are so gracious to include me here. I'm so glad you're blogging. Now…are we supposed to pass it on?

  5. August 4, 2010 10:15 pm

    >Yes! Pass it on…I'd be happy to come over and do my goat noise, but my whinny is much more refined.

  6. August 4, 2010 11:49 pm

    >I too organize my closet by sleeve length, but I love pudding and just sound crazy when I try to make animal noises. Thankfully it still makes children laugh which is usually the point.

  7. August 5, 2010 1:52 am

    >Okay I have to say you threw me for a loop, a very nice one but my goodness you made me tear up 🙂 Thank you so very much for including me in your list. You made me feel treasured this evening. Your list of seven has me giggling. The fear of birds…umm ok, dislike of cantaloupe I am with you on that but I still grow it,where near the Blue Ridge? Me too! Now I have to come up with seven things (lol)Sending you all of my heartfelt love and best wishes for you and yours {muwah}Red

  8. August 5, 2010 3:24 am

    >Birds are EVIL!Salem, Virginia. In Dixieland I'll take my stand…but I'll live and die in California! Red – one of these days we'll end up in the same place and I will know you instantly and give you a GREAT BIG HUG! Your boy-posts are my courage to face my future!

  9. August 5, 2010 7:38 pm

    >You are too sweet!

  10. August 6, 2010 3:10 am

    >congratulations on your award and THANK YOU! So honoured. xo

  11. August 7, 2010 9:36 pm

    >ohhh I can't wait to check out these blogs, and you are very welcome. I'm really enjoying meeting fellow writers through the Red Dress Club.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

