Skip to content

>Gratitude Monday

August 9, 2010

>
I’m thankful for summer. Since it’s almost over. I’m also thankful to get back to regular bedtimes and routine.

Gabe is thankful that it’s the coldest summer we’ve had in 30 years here in the Silicon Valley. While all the rest of you inlanders are sweltering, that hot air is drawing in the cool air off the ocean and we’ve barely broken 80 degrees for most of the summer. My Yankee loves it.

I’m thankful that my kids have had a real summer, with camping, amusement parks, tons of junk food and, despite my best efforts to slather them in sunscreen, a fierce tan. We’ve even had a bout of poison oak just to make it REALLY feel like summer (I am not thankful that they shared the poison oak with ME).

Most of all, I’m thankful that we have two more weeks to play, to beach, to swim and to sun. Here’s to the twilight of summer, friends. Make each day count.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2010 6:24 pm

    >Ahh, a tribute to summer…a post after my own heart. Thanks for the thousand-word photo, too. Looks like a belly flop waiting to happen!

  2. August 9, 2010 11:13 pm

    >Love that photo!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

