Skip to content

Fearless

August 10, 2010

Saturday was spent at a local park. Scooby zeroed in on the creek, and before I knew what was happening, he had climbed out to the center. Perched precariously on a partially sunken log. My heart racing, I urged him to return to the bank. To where it was safe. No mom, it’s fine. I can see the current out here. Fearless. I journaled about his fear-issues (or lack thereof) four years ago. Funny how things haven’t changed much since. “when my three year old encounters water i am reminded of just how fearless he truly is. such confidence, that, as he careens down the slide into the pool with his mouth and eyes wide open in glee, there will always be someone nearby to drag him back to the surface. and it’s not just in the pool – he embraces new experiences with calm assurance and confidence. flying is another example – Papa keeps a private plane for his business and personal use, and Scooby has been his trusty co-pilot (and proud of it) since he was six months old. now old enough to ride in the cockpit, and wise enough to understand that he musn’t touch or kick the controls (how many three year old boys can resist a wall full of dials and knobs, I ask you?) he handles what many adults are terrified to experience with grace, peace, and absolute confidence in his pilot.” Oh, but that we all could live with such a lack of fear, without anxiety and, with absolute confidence in our Pilot.

I’m linking up today with Tuesdays Unwrapped.>tuesdays unwrapped at catsAlso, be sure to stop by The MOB Society today, and comment on my article “Does God Smell Our Hair?” I’d love to know what you think! Mothers of Boys
7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 4:14 am

    >love how they can embrace so much without all the anxieties that get in our way! i learn from mine all the time.

  2. August 10, 2010 11:54 am

    >My second son is like that.Enjoy him, but watch him at the same time.They do get into stuff.www.semplydone.blogspot.com

  3. August 10, 2010 7:44 pm

    >i fear my son and daughter are the same way. h will at least still look back occassionally to check if i am following and a just wants to see and do everything!

  4. August 10, 2010 10:10 pm

    >Those fearless boys cause mommas' hearts to stop! It's been quite a challenge for me over the years to keep my fears and insecurities from becoming theirs. What a great post and it looks like you had a great day! Also, I read the article at MOB society this morning…it was really encouraging! 🙂

  5. August 11, 2010 1:46 am

    >I have a fearless 6 year old. I enjoy watching him explore and learn, but man am I tired at the end of one of his adventures!

  6. August 11, 2010 2:56 pm

    >How neat to get to fly with his Papa!

  7. August 11, 2010 10:53 pm

    >Thanks so much for stopping by! I often wish I were as fearless as one of my daughters! They approach life with faith that is so different from that of my own! Even though I am a relatively new mom…I feel like I have learned more from my kids in the last 10 months, than all the years before that! Ok…so that might be a slight exaggeration…but pretty close to accurate!! I love to find someone with great musical taste as well!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

