Skip to content

>The Unthinkable

August 10, 2010

>Scrappy and I were crossing the parking lot this morning, as per normal. For once, he was actually holding my hand, instead of running ahead while I trailed behind, sherpa-like, bags full of blankies and swim gear over each arm.

We were just a few feet from the garbage truck. He was put-off by the noise, and thus, was holding my hand. Nudging him ahead of me, I looked up to see a car whizzing in front of us. Inches. Maybe a foot away.

She veered between us and the next row of cars. Had she not seen us, she would have hit us surely. That she saw us, and veered instead of stopping, is almost worse.

I am drowning in a million What Ifs?

I had to hug him a while longer this morning. To reassure myself that he was still there, every last bit.

I whispered “Thank you, God!” over his shoulder. Scrappy pulled back to look me in the eye and promptly replied, “You’re welcome!”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2010 3:26 am

    >I am so sorry for the fear that you felt. I can imagine. Our children our so precious to us. It only takes a minute for the careless actions of another to take away what we worked so hard for. So glad that you are both safe and sound. It is quite adorable that Scrappy answered your comment to God:)Happy Mothering, my friend.

  2. August 11, 2010 11:06 pm

    >It's nice to see that the God complex in men starts early. 🙂 Sorry for your scare. Your little ones are so precious, there would be a big hole in the world if it had been a 'what?' instead of a 'what-if?' Thank God (not Scrappy) that it wasn't!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

