Skip to content

>On Watching

August 19, 2010

>My sweet husband stood up in front of God and everybody on Sunday night and talked about what’s really important in life.

For those in the same career as G, what’s important is the car you drive, the clothes you wear, the house you live in, the watch you own, and even, the pen you write with.

Not so for G – while he’s had to make some concessions in his attire and car – it’s not who he is. Those things don’t define him. He said to the crowd that had gathered for worship that evening, that what was important to him was the legacy he left behind.

“You never know when someone is watching you,” he said. “When the clerk gives you change for a $20 and you only handed her a $10 – you never know who is watching.”

“When you suffer dissapointments and setbacks, how you react to those things – you never know when someone is watching.”

And when you stand up in front of 100 people to be vulnerable, and honest, and transparent – you never know who is watching, and hearing, and taking your words to heart.

And if I’ve learned one thing over the last seven years, it’s that little boys – they are always watching.

I loved G hopelessly on the day we were married. I loved him enough then to want him to be my partner for life, the father of my children, my friend and my mentor.

12 years later, I love him so much more. He has exceeded my hopes, my expectations and my dreams for what a partner and spouse could be. Should be. Can be.

He makes me want to be a better person. He leads me, and our family, with a gentle and confident hand.

I just wanted to tell the world that.

I love my husband. I am proud of who he is and who he is becoming.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 2:25 pm

    >You're a blessed woman, Adelle, as are your children. What a gift to have a husband who leads his family, as God intended all of them to do. May you have many happy years together.

  2. August 19, 2010 3:16 pm

    >What a nice way to start my day, with a big smile of thankfulness to God for your marriage and friendship. :DAnd G. really did rock the house on Sunday.

  3. August 19, 2010 7:03 pm

    >I love this. It's so true. Our witness is our actions, not our words.

  4. December 10, 2010 7:49 am

    >This post is like saying, "You had me at hello." I felt like I could hear you saying this to the world; like watching a scene in a movie. Love it.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

