Skip to content

>Friday Faves: The Benefit of Brand Loyalty

August 20, 2010

>Maybe it’s because I spent 14 years trying to build brands.

Maybe it’s because I’m a stick-in-the-mud who doesn’t really like variety (except when it comes to shoes and wine).

Or maybe it’s a little bit of both…. but I’m big on brand loyalty.

I like consistency. I like reliability. I like to find brands that deliver both – and I deliver by remaining loyal (at least until the brand abandons what they stood for in the first place.)

Take Ann Taylor for instance. I was a serious Ann Taylor-girl back in the suits-and-heels day. At least 80% of my work-wardrobe was bought at AT. I loved the clothes,I loved the service, I loved the quality.

And then they changed. Linen and silk were replaced by blends and poly. The quality was no longer there.

Then the service – there were several occasions when I walked in the store only to be ignored by bored saleswomen. I’m a reasonable person, but when I’m paying $200 for an outfit, I’d like some help finding my size, y’know?

As we’ve previously discussed, I’m a recent convert to Benefit Cosmetics. Love the packaging. Love the counter. Love the products! But my foundation was just a tiny bit too dark, and it was only offered in one color.

I thought I’d try something new. I trotted up to a well-known and reliable brand at my local Macy’s. I received great service, questionable skin-care advice, and left with two products – a foundation and a primer+sunblack.

I used them twice and broke out chin to forehead in a dreadful rash. Not their fault – clearly something I was allergic to, but it was just a little reminder that there’s something to this loyalty business.

Stick with what works.

So, back to Benefit I go only to find that Some Kinda Gorgeous is now offered in “Light.” And she sold me on the finishing powder, too.

Reliable. Consistent. Quality. Happy, happy me.


some kind-a gorgeous
the foundation faker
$28


hello flawless!
custom powder cover-up with SPF 15
$34

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2010 3:44 am

    >I agree. I like to try new stuff, but once you find something that works along the lines of cosmetics, cleaning products, etc. stick with it. If not, it almost always bites me in the ass. I can't tell you how many times I've tried to switch mascaras only to have them all end up awful, but the one I always come back to is my lashblast which rocks my socks off and doesn't clump! I like variety in most things but certain things, I just have to stay loyal too!Happy Thursday my friend!

  2. August 20, 2010 10:28 am

    >I agree, too! I remember once, having a love affair with Ann Taylor. And then I had my baby. I walked into the store one day, with my teeny little umbrella stroller and baby, and I got the worst up and down looks from a couple of employees there. Like I didn't belong in that store. And that's where my love affair ended.

  3. August 20, 2010 5:07 pm

    >Next time you go makeup shopping I wanna come! I never think to go, but man I could use some Benefit love! You might even say I would benefit from it…..Sorry, it's Friday and my brain's already out the door. 🙂

  4. August 20, 2010 9:05 pm

    >Yup, it's gotta take some pretty good convincing to get me to change brands!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

