Skip to content

>Lovey Dovey

August 25, 2010

>
Scooby was a blankie-boy from early days. As an infant, he would sleep wadded up in a ball, knees under belly, bottoms up, blanket wrapped around head.

We kept trying to remove his fuzzy turban, only to later find it replaced.

Post nap, the blankie had to come along for a while – until sleep was rubbed out of eyes and other amusements distracted.


For years, it was Green Blankie that was the favorite. Now others have taken it’s place (but I keep it for good reason). Regardless of size, shape or color, it’s the texture that matters. Soft.

Even now, years later, Scooby is a blankie boy (and 20 years from now, he will HATE me for writing this). Today, Yellow Blankie reigns supreme. Faded, barely yellow, it offered comfort from a broken arm, even so far as joining him in the O.R.

After Scrappy came along, and being in so many ways (ok, every other way) different from his brother, I was surprised to find a certain Blue Blankie riding shotgun. Daily he totes his soft friend to and from preschool. If we forget it, well, that’s a really bad thing.


Come time-outs, skinned knees or sleepy heads – a blanket is really all the fix that’s needed. A friend like no other. A friend that (for now) stands closer than a brother.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2010 4:55 am

    >This is so sweet. My youngest curls up to a polka dot blanket every night and it melts my heart. I love this baby season of life!

  2. August 25, 2010 2:50 pm

    >Love it! My girls both have loveys. Bella's is Fiff a soft cuddly pink poodle and Gabs' is Lolly the Lion. They take such comfort in these little inanimate objects. We've had to have FIFI next day fed exed when she was forgotten at Grandma ChaCHA's. It was a long night. Hold on to those blankies.Happy Mothering!

  3. August 25, 2010 4:49 pm

    >I love it! My baby has a thin burp cloth that he always falls asleep with. Today I laid him in his bed and went to get it, because we'd left it on my bed earlier. He started crying immediately because he thought I'd forgotten to give it to him. 🙂

  4. August 25, 2010 10:20 pm

    >Can I just say that (a) loverly, loverly blog and (b) my husband and I looked at the cute baby tush in that top pic and both went "awwwwwww!"

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

