Skip to content

I Want it NOW!

September 21, 2010

This video was shown at AWE last night.

I was so moved by the imagery of a father, struggling to give GOOD gifts to his son – not useless, cheap things simply because he asked for them.

Just as, in the clip, Rob’s son pleaded, “But, I want it! I want it! I NEED it!” So then we plead with God. I want financial security! I want to be well! I want to get out of this apartment, I want a new car, I want to be married, I want children of my own, I want more, I want different…and I want it NOW.

My kids ask me for stuff all the time. And I LOVE to give them what they want. But I don’t always. Sometimes I say no. It’s not because I’m cruel or mean. But it’s because their perspective is limited. There’s stuff they don’t see that I see…Some of the stuff they ask for would make them miserable. Other things might be great someday, but not now.

Sometimes we ask God for things and when we don’t get them, when He doesn’t deliver, we think there’s something wrong with God. Or we’ve been waiting for so long…how much longer, God? How long? If you would just give me this, it will all be ok!

Rob Bell poses this question as the heart of the matter:
Do I believe that God is good? What do you, deep in your bones, believe that God is like? Until we each deal with this question, nothing is ever going to make any sense.

And the Bible has the answer:
You parents—if your children ask for a loaf of bread, do you give them a stone instead? 10 Or if they ask for a fish, do you give them a snake? Of course not! 11 So if you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give good gifts to those who ask him. Matthew 7:9

For those of us who were raised in a relatively happy home, with parents who stayed together, supported and encouraged us, loved and disciplined us, the image of a loving and benevolent God isn’t such a big reach.

But yet – what about those who didn’t grow up in a stable home? Who had fathers that literally drove away, leaving a crying four year old standing at the curb, wondering why dad was leaving. Or who were beaten, senselessly and brutally, just for being there when he came home?

How can such as these imagine a Father that truly loves us unconditionally, without limits, without reason?

I ask this question all the time. My husband was raised by such men – yes, there were more than one – and it baffles me that he is the loving, benevolent, and generous parent that he is, despite the example that was set for him as a child.

I think it is still hard for him, though. To accept the unconditional love of a Father that seeks only the best for His children.

Who sometimes says: “Not now. Not yet.There’s something better across the street.You just can’t see it yet.”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2010 5:46 am

    >Glad you brought this up. Your blogs always bring an unexpected twist. Thanks for blogging your thoughts!

  2. September 21, 2010 3:58 pm

    >For those of us who came out of a hard-knock life, I like what my hubby says: "God didn't have to do much to sell Himself to me. He got me precisely because He was the Perfect Father I never had. I don't have trouble believing in Him because I had a crappy father; He's the perfect example, and all I need. Besides, what satan took away, He restored a hundred times over through men in our church."I love my husband, he's so smart.

  3. September 21, 2010 4:43 pm

    >Beautiful post! I love that Nooma video, and I'm sure that takes on even more meaning when you're a parent and can start to fathom what it really means to want the best for your children. Thanks for being open and honest and sharing great insight!

  4. September 21, 2010 9:01 pm

    >I loved this, Adelle. So relevant to us today.

  5. September 23, 2010 12:19 pm

    >The Nooma video is so inspiring and provocative, Rob Bell is so good at getting to the heart of God. Very powerful. Your reflections and insights are wonderful. Thank you for sharing this. I am new to your blog but am really enjoying following your thoughts and expereinces. Thank you.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

