Skip to content

>Gratitude Monday: Seven Days

September 27, 2010

>I have dusted the bookshelves in the Master bedroom, tidied up Scooby’s room and dusted all his shelves, ditto for Scrappy. I’ve cleaned out their bathroom cupboards, tossed expired medications, re-organized the band-aid drawer and scrubbed out their bathtub.

I’ve re-papered four shelves in my kitchen and cleaned out the silverware drawer. I’ve pulled out the island and vacuumed and scrubbed underneath it. Wiped down all my appliances and kitchen gadgets and gave the outside of the fridge a wash.

I’ve hacked back the lavender, reclaimed the front sidewalk from the ground cover, and shovel-pruned a couple of ugly shrubs.

I’ve washed and sanitized and deodorized and organized. All in just the last two days.

Have I gone crazy? OCD?

Nope. I’m nesting! I’m preparing to be trapped in the house for at least two weeks. Knowing all that ook is out there is one thing when you aren’t in the house much. When you’re stuck in the house, those dust kitties can be downright mocking.

A week from tomorrow I’ll be going in for a rather uncomfortable procedure on my hip. Two years I’ve whined about my aching right side and now it’s time to get it done with. It won’t be fun, but at least I’ll be getting better, instead of just hurting all the time. The diagnosis is called FAI – Femero Acetabular Impingement. Basically, my hip socket is overhanging a bit too far and is banging into and violently irritating my femur. Or, you could say, (as my friend Dena pointed out) I have a pelvic overbite. (She dared me to say that on my blog. Dena must not know that I rarely can pass up a dare. Dena just laughed her coffee out her nose, I’m pretty sure.) They will trim the socket back by 1/2 inch or so, and clean up the torn cartilage in the joint that’s been chewed up by the impingement.

I am grateful for the loving network of friends and family who are ramping up to help us through a long convalescence. They are carpooling my kids, making us dinner and generally being available for last-minute emergencies. Even more importantly, they are praying over us. I’ll be honest – I’m scared. Two c-sections, a very invasive eye-surgery and this still scares me.

I’m also grateful for the ones who go above and beyond – G got a cold last week, and Scrappy started coughing on Friday. Yesterday he was a boogery mess. (If I get sick, the surgery is off – possibly postponed till November or December.) I’m taking so much medical leave, I was anxious over what to do about him tomorrow. Get this – I had not one, but THREE friends offer to keep him for me. Two of them with children of their own – yes, I’ll take your snotty, coughing child and put my own healthy children at risk. I would do that for you. I am wordless with gratitude for that kind of generosity.

I wish it were tomorrow, not a week from. I’m ready to move on! So, my friends, just know that I’ll be going dark for a while. If I post while on pain medication, well, it could get pretty bizarre. I’m sure you’ll be able to tell. I think I need a babysitter to make sure I don’t do anything rash.

I’m so grateful for the lovely comments, the encouragement and kudos you all have been so generous with this past year – yes, almost a year! – writing brings me a great deal of joy but only when it resonates with someone else. It’s what you think, truly, that really matters.

Thank you.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2010 10:31 am

    >Wow, you HAVE been busy! Good luck with the surgery…sounds mighty painful. You are truly blessed to have such wonderful friends.

  2. September 28, 2010 12:47 am

    >Will be sending you positive vibes and thoughts and prayers 🙂 So glad you have wonderful people near you to help out!

  3. September 28, 2010 9:07 pm

    >Ouch Adelle! That sounds really painful! I've been thinking about you. Want me to send you some books?

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

