Skip to content

>Gratitude Monday: Our Daily Bread

October 3, 2010

>…and give us this day our daily bread.

I’ve whispered and spoken and thought that prayer a thousand times.

But not this time. Too overwhelmed, I have been pretty much stuck on a mantra of “the Lord is my Shepherd. the Lord is my Shephered.”

I was truly beyond words. Decisions have had to be made in the last two days and I stand there dumbly. Am I hungry? I don’t know. Do I want to keep the chambray sheets out or the train sheets? I don’t know. Do I want to pack up the linen closet now, or later? I don’t know.

I hadn’t asked God for anything, other than endurance.

But the manna arrived anyway.

Daily portions – just enough.

Hands to help. To wash and paint and prune. Food – nourishing and healthy meals, arriving hot and ready on my table. Digital encouragement flying over the internet from all around the globe.

Servants, all of them. (Side note: you never realize how much you’ve been living in filth until you begin to move. Horrors.) They have seen the underbelly of my existence and they love me anyway.

Not only have our basic needs been met, but the not-so-basic ones, too. A garage sale, appearing from thin air just across the street. We cleaned out the garage, dragging our detritus over there all morning, coming back with $100 and more space.

A truck with which to haul the shrubs that we cut away from the house. Friends arriving unannounced on our doorstep, ready to paint, or prime, or sand, or scrub. Smiling and willing.

My windows are gleaming, my cupboards, they shine. My baseboards are coming, my closets are closing, my garage is emptying, and, my ceilings are spider-free. My bathroom is white again, my laundry is folded, my yard is raked, my gutters are where they are supposed to be, and my precious family momentos are carefully packed away.

Just enough each day to meet our needs. In G’s own words: “It’s like our own unique version of manna.”

Our daily bread.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2010 10:02 pm

    >I was horrified at how dirty our carpets had become in the three years we'd lived in our first apartment! You're so right, we don't realize how dirty our house is until we move.Keep your chin up, hon! As one of your ME calendars once reminded me: "when you reach the end of your rope, tie a knot and hang on."

  2. October 6, 2010 4:54 am

    >Once you move the big things, all the little things previously hidden seem to cover every horizontal surface. We call it "schwee" and still have boxes labeled as such in the garage, over two years post-move.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

