Skip to content

>Every Good and Perfect Gift

October 5, 2010

>I am struggling to keep my eyes open – as i wait for the screens to load, I am actually dozing a bit.

I just had to share an incident from yesterday – one of many blessings – but so amazing and profound. Such an unexpected, and good, and perfect gift only a loving and perfect God can give.

Not quite a year ago, Scooby broke his arm. It was the night to beat all terrifying nights, and I wrote about it the following day. This is an excerpt from what I wrote:

We had the full range of medical staff – the doctor who looks at your kid but won’t talk to you, the nurse who keeps forgetting his fear of needles and leaves three of them on a tray by his bed for him to stare at in anticipatory horror, the doctor who finally will look you in the eye and tell you what’s going to happen next, the funny nurse who cracks jokes about her own kids and finally gets you to smile, and then, the nurse-named-Greta that you will never forget, who was so kind you actually started to cry because finally, someone is acting like they GET how SCARY this all is, not just for your child, but for you, too.

Now, yesterday, the day of my hip surgery, I had nothing but lovely providers. From Jack who was the first to realize I was shivering in pre-op and started bringing armloads of warmed blankets, to Jane, who was kind and sweet and knew just how to pile the hot blankets on the bottom, and the cooled ones on the top (to the point where, by the time I was wheeled over to surgery, I was a toasty mummy).

And then there was Greta – the very same Greta. She walked into my little curtained cubicle yesterday morning to introduce herself as my nurse anesthetist, and I almost burst into tears (again).

Out of how many anesthesiologists and anesthetists, I got the familiar face, someone already trusted and proven kind.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 7:12 pm

    >What a precious story, Adelle. When we expect and watch for our Loving Father's attention, our faith will not be left wanting. He is faithful to show Himself over and over again, IF we have a heart that is OPEN to "see" HIM!! My prayers go up for you, sweet one.

  2. October 5, 2010 8:45 pm

    >Trusted and proven kind-like our Heavenly Father. Such direct answers to my prayers going up for you! Glad you could stay awake to share. I was hoping for an update as I logged onto FB. I knew you would be dozing a lot today. Glad this is day one of a full and rapid recovery!

  3. October 5, 2010 10:35 pm

    >I am so grateful to God on your behalf….I can't help but tearing up. What a gift. What a God. You are so loved.

  4. October 6, 2010 1:33 am

    >Adelle, isn't that just like the Lord? He knows who to send to us in those moments of fear. I hope you're doing well.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

