Skip to content

>Attitude Monday

October 11, 2010

>Oh, I have had such a bad attitude today. Whine, whine, whine. Woe is me.

I hate these dadgum crutches.

I have modeled some very poor behavior for my children. I could teach a class:

How NOT to deal with frustration.
How NOT to be gracious about one’s own limitations.
How to cry like a baby when things don’t go your way (or, don’t try to make a grilled cheese sandwich until you can stand on two feet, and don’t throw the spatula when you drop butter on the floor).

But I did manage to get out of the house, twice. Tonight’s AWE service did a lot to “feel me all better” (as Scrappy would say).

Lacking anything terribly positive of my own to relate today, I instead offer a guest post.

A little backstory: the author of the post below grew up in a broken home. Broken three times, that is. All alcoholics. The biological dad left him crying on the sidewalk at the age of four, never to return. The rest took turns bruising his confidence and his face. It was not an easy childhood. What he did have was the unconditional love of a mother who slavishly worked to keep them clothed and fed, who put her foot down and said “yes, you WILL go to college.” I can’t imagine working two, sometimes three jobs, and coming home to take care of two kids less than 2 years apart in age. She managed and she did a good job.

As you’ve read, it’s been a rough couple of weeks at our house – lots of chaos, lots of confusion, lots of uncertainty. Through it all, there was this. An epiphany:

God, through Your love You’ve demonstrated what a true “father” really is. You’ve used your children to rally around me and my family. You have provided support in all forms – spiritual, physical…even financial. I now understand how a father protectes and loves His children.

I can almost hear you saying “Gabe, this is what a dad is, and this is how he takes care of his children.”

I understand it now. I get it.

As for me? If this is what it took to bring us – him – here, then it’s all worth it. I would do it all over again in a heartbeat.

Just wanted to share that with the world.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 11, 2010 4:07 pm

    >Last night I chucked my lazy kate, spindle, and wool across the room because my newly spun yarn would Not. Stop. Tangling! Yours is a much better reason for throwing a tantrum. Just sayin'.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

