Skip to content

>Simple Pleasures: A Memory

October 14, 2010

>As a college student, home for the summer, each year I worked long hours to earn my share of tuition, books, and spending money.

Many a weekday evening, I’d get home from work and flop to the family room couch, wrung out.

Mom was in the kitchen, preparing dinner in her wonderful, June Cleaver way. To those tender sounds I would doze in the next room, in the quiet of early evening.

I’m home this week, reliant solely on the care of others for everything beyond my basic needs. I brewed a cup of tea for myself yesterday, only to drink it standing on one leg in the kitchen, alone, unable to conjure a way to get cup to couch with crutch nor walker.

My stepmom came to babysit me today, to clean and arrange, and bring me my tea. In the afternoon, I fell asleep on the family room couch, wrung out. I dozed there, in the quiet of early evening, as she prepared dinner in the next room in her wonderful, June Cleaver way.

It was a blessed, sweet tune she made, as chicken simmered and polenta boiled. It was a gift that her actions brought back a hidden memory of those summer nights from so long ago. It was a gift that the memory didn’t hurt, though my mother is gone. It was a gift that I have a stepmom who loves me like her own, who loves me enough to scrub my floors, dust my table, then roll up her pink, linen sleeves and feed three hungry boys and a daughter unable to walk.

Project Simple Pleasures2

I’m back in the saddle today! Stop by A Collection of This and That for other Simple Pleasures.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2010 5:04 am

    >I'm choking back a few tears, especially after that last paragarph…

  2. October 14, 2010 6:23 am

    >Adelle, I just seem to be in the crying mood as I'm reading today's links for Simple Pleasures. Not sure why, but this one made me cry too. Beautifully written and even though it's not fun being dependent on other people, you've shown it can actually be a pleasure having someone there who cares for us whenever we can't take care of ourselves. I do hope you make a speedy recovery. Thanks so much for linking up today. This is wonderful!

  3. October 14, 2010 2:49 pm

    >Love………..thanks for sharing

  4. October 14, 2010 3:08 pm

    >It's amazing how God restores what we've lost, in so many ways.

  5. October 14, 2010 4:06 pm

    >Beautiful – that made me tear up. I'm also so thankful for your family and especially your dad that God gave you Nancy!

  6. October 14, 2010 7:53 pm

    >What a heart-warming little story. Glad you're all better now.

  7. October 14, 2010 8:59 pm

    >What a beautiful, precious post. So good to have such a strong relationship in your life.

  8. October 15, 2010 1:26 am

    >Yes a few tears were choked back as I read this post, you are always so descriptive and thoughtful in your writing. I feel like I am right there with you. Glad you are recovering with so much love surrounding you. God is amazing and tender.

  9. October 15, 2010 10:03 am

    >Hello Adelle, I so enjoyed reading about your beautiful gifts. What a grace-filled simple pleasure you are sharing! God bless you and heal you..Trish

  10. October 15, 2010 9:13 pm

    >How cool is that? A moment to reclaim a piece of childhood. And love how you are turning, what could be so much frustration in your situation, into trying to remember the positives.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

