Skip to content

>Gratitude Monday: Walking

October 18, 2010

>So many things to be thankful for today.

For the first rain of the season.

Cooler weather after an uncharacteristic heat wave last week.

My house, renovated and refreshed, with a sprightly red front door that I can’t wait to show you (must unearth camera) and the fact that we are still in it, and hope to be for many years to come (more on that another time).

But most of all, I’m thankful that I get to walk today. 14 days of no weight-bearing felt more like 14 years. It HURTS to use crutches – it does! I’d go to bed aching all over – everywhere BUT my hip, ironically.

I tried it out a bit last night. I left my walker in the hallway, and went into Scoob’s room to pull out his clothes for the morning (yes, I’m THAT kind of mom. I lay out their clothes the night before).

I admit to you that I actually cried. It was so nice to WALK to the bureau, pull open the drawer with one hand and reach in with the other. No heavy equipment to maneuver out of the way, wobble on, or trip over as I tried to stand on one foot.

Just now, I took a slow lap around my patio. Vertical, enjoying the rain-soaked smells of autumn. It may be raining, but I’m walking on sunshine today, friends.

Side note: using crutches has one side benefit (just one). My triceps look AWESOME. Crutches = tricep boot camp. And my pecs, were they visible, ought to look pretty good too, considering how much they have hurt these past weeks.

Probably more than you needed to know.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2010 6:19 pm

    >Bless your heart. God bless you as you "walk" with Him today.

  2. October 18, 2010 7:10 pm

    >Lots of smiling as I read this! I hope the first day back at work was manageable and that walking is a simple pleasure with little pain today!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

