Skip to content

>Worth Reading: Little Earthquakes

October 20, 2010

>
I keep a shelf in my library strictly for lending. Books I’ve been given, books I’ve read, incoming and outgoing. A delicious row of read and unread – and this week, it’s almost entirely unread, double deep, and spilling over to the shelves below.

I just wish I read faster (and didn’t fall asleep so much).

Last week, I wanted nothing but light and airy. Sophie Kinsella stood by me, surprising with “Twenties Girl” and “Remember Me?” I was pretty well done with Becky Bloomwood, but these were just right – quick and easy and clever. Like a glass of rose on a hot summer day.

I felt a bit guilty reading such fluff, two in a row, so I dove into a Ken Follet next. “Pillars of the Earth.” It came highly recommended.

I have this rule that I never stop a book once I’ve started. It feels wrong not to finish what I’ve started. Rarely, very rarely, will I quit a book midway.

I quit the Follet. I might try again, but argh – I just wasn’t in the frame of mind to read of medieval gore, filth and treachery. Not today. (I’ll probably pick it up again in a few months and be back here to tell you that I loved it. Sue me. I’m fickle.) Anyone read it? Tell me why I should…one good review and I’ll probably try again.

“Three Cups of Tea” was next, by Greg Mortensen. Fascinating, inspiring tale of a guy who lived for nothing but himself be changed by generosity, and ended up living for others instead. In Pakistan, no less.

But the real winner in all of these is “Little Earthquakes” by Jennifer Weiner. If you’ve had kids, are having kids, if you know someone who is having a baby or if you ever want one of your own, this is the first time I’ve read the TRUTH about motherhood. Unvarnished in fiction – honest, funny and tragic – it’s all there. And friendship. And loss. And love. And marriage. And how it all is wound together.

Well worth the time. Thanks Christy, for putting this one on my shelf.

…he led her down the hall for the last time, back to the island of couches and coffee tables, the out-of-date magazines and the parents with tense, fearful faces. Her friends were waiting for her, sitting side by side on a couch, Becky in her cook’s black-and-white pants, Kelly twisting her rosary beads in her lap, Lia’s face in profile so stern and lovely that it belonged in a painting or on a coin. They looked at her with their faces upturned like flowers, their hands linked, like sisters.

“It’s going to be all right.”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2010 5:41 am

    >I am a voracious reader!! I read one or two books a week (haven't slept well since my bed became so empty). If you have any books you would recommend and/or lend I would appreciate it. I read just about everything depending on my mood. Sometimes heavy duty thought provoking Christian books and other times easy reading fluff.

  2. October 20, 2010 5:43 pm

    >I love novel recommendations! I will definitely be picking this one up.

  3. October 20, 2010 6:58 pm

    >Reading is one of life's simple pleasures. I can't imagine not reading.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

