Skip to content

What’s in YOUR vase?

November 9, 2010


I love this little card.

I found it among some notes I made for a women’s retreat I helped to lead years ago. On a piece of scratch paper I wrote this…

Did you enjoy the flowers we left in your room?

Weren’t they pretty? Did you notice the vase at all? No? Not really?

Funny how that works. An empty vase would have been remarkable…but when there’s flowers, well, the vase is just the vessel, isn’t it? A rusty tin can is suddenly charming when it’s filled with daisies.

We’re kind of like those vases, don’t you think?

We’re just the vessel. Jesus is what’s on the inside. When Jesus is on the inside, the outside doesn’t really matter, does it?

My mom never really felt a great deal of self-worth. She always thought herself too shy, too fat (oh yes she did), too uneducated, too worried about what everyone else was thinking.

Sadly, what everyone else was thinking is that she was a beautiful vase, all filled up with Jesus-flowers, and she didn’t even know it.

Why do we think we aren’t worthy of Jesus? Of His love, and beauty, and transformation?

Here’s the thing – we are worthy BECAUSE of Jesus. We are worthy because of what He has done for us.

I think Elizabeth says it best in the book of Luke – she’s speaking to her cousin Mary, but really, I think she’s speaking to all of us.

“Blessed is she who has believed that the Lord would fulfill his promises to her!”

The flowers are already in your vase – didn’t you know?

tuesdays unwrapped at cats

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2010 3:01 pm

    >Blessings and prayers,andrea

  2. November 9, 2010 4:13 pm

    >What a lovely thought. So simple, yet profound. Thanks for cheering up my Tuesday!

  3. November 9, 2010 6:08 pm

    >What a beautiful analogy!

  4. November 9, 2010 6:58 pm

    >Amen! 🙂

  5. November 9, 2010 7:15 pm

    >Love this! Thanks for sharing. I found you thru chatting at the sky and am so glad I did! I'll be back 😉

  6. November 9, 2010 10:40 pm

    >Oh…My…Gosh! I'm reading Beautiful by Beth Redman and just finished the chapter talking about Elizabeth and Mary and this very verse!!!I smile a huge smile believing that I'm a vase filled with the beautiful flowers of Jesus!

  7. November 9, 2010 11:01 pm

    >Yes, everything you need is within you already.

  8. November 10, 2010 1:00 pm

    >Thank you for reminding that I too am "a beautiful vase all filled up with Jesus-flowers." Beautiful post.

  9. November 17, 2010 12:33 pm

    >A really inspiring and uplifting post. I needed to read this today – thank you.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

