Skip to content

>Gratitude Monday: Boom

November 22, 2010

>
The first one hit while I was loading the dryer in the garage.
I drooped the wet clothes and ran back into the house.

I’m actually quite afraid of electrical storms. Just like I am with chickens and all manner of fowl (foul), however, I don’t want to pass my fears along to my kids.

So I took a deep breath and with a smile, we herded into the dining room and piled into a rocker by the window. He turned out the lights and opened the windows. We wrapped up in a blanket.

Scooby declared it better than TV, that little half hour we spent in front of the window.

Bang it again, God! Bang it again! We jumped at every flash and waited, holding our breath, for every crash.

You must understand – this is California. It never rains in California.

I had a very bad experience with an electrical storm in Maine. My boyfriend at the time could not understand why the little California girl arrived at his house after work, shaking and crying. I had driven there in the dark along an elevated freeway with lightening zipping across the entire span of the sky, from one end to the other, over and over and finally exiting that highway from hell, only to find the neighborhood pitch dark, signs obliterated, trees fallen.

I got lost, I got scared, I was certain that I was going to die out there. It was horrible.

I married him anyway.

Thankfully, we see a grand total of about six or seven lightening flashes a year around here. Most of the time.

Tonight was different, and so was I. I had boys to cuddle – boys who had never before seen a storm like this. Who relished in the rarity and rejoiced in the noise. They thought I was there to protect them, my arms wrapped around them twice, blankets tucked in around the edges, rocking in the dark. They felt safer because I was there.

It was really the other way around.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 25, 2010 3:34 am

    >I completely understand your feelings about thunderstorms. Growing up in the Bay area they are rare and fairly tame. But when I visited my grandparents in the South, they were terrifying.I hate the feeling of the electricity in the air. My grandparents had their phone launch across the room in one storm. They never left appliances plugged in when they left home if they wanted them to survive a passing storm. They kept their old kerosene lamps around to use when the lights went out.When we moved to the Sacramento area, Tim wondered how I'd handle the thunderstorms here (since they are more common than in the Bay). They are nothing compared to the blitzkriegs you get elsewhere.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

