Skip to content

Gingersnap Caramel Cheesecake

November 30, 2010


Because so many have asked…here you go. (When it comes to food photography, the Pioneer Woman I ain’t…)

This is a combination of several recipes with my modifications based on past experience. Basically, my own invention.

Gingersnap Crust:

One box/bag of good-quality gingersnaps (the spicier, the better), ground to crumbs in your food processor. Blend in 1/2 c. brown sugar – you should end up with at least 2 c. of crumbs. Stir in 1/2 c. melted butter and press firmly into the bottom and sides of a 9″ springform pan.

Cheesecake Filling:
(Brace yourself – I never said this was healthy.)

5 8 oz. packages of cream cheese, softened
1 3/4 c. sugar
5 large eggs
2 egg yolks
1/4 c. heavy cream
2 t. vanilla

Beat cream cheese until smooth and fluffy. Add sugar, mix thoroughly. Add eggs one at a time, beating thoroughly after each one to avoid lumps.
Add cream and vanilla, beat just enough to combine.

Pour into prepared springform pan and bake for 10 minutes at 400 degrees, then reduce heat to 225 and bake for approximately one hour. Turn off heat; leave in oven another hour.

Note: My oven does this differently every time. Watch carefully when it is at 400 – mine has scorched when I left it just one minute too long. I also do not turn off the heat until the cake is set in the center (when the pan is gently bumped, it shouldn’t jiggle more than a fraction).I also always place a casserole of water in the oven with the cake, on the shelf beneath – the extra moisture tends to help keep the cake from cracking, though not always. That’s what the sauce is for anyways – to cover up the cracks!

Chill overnight and serve in thin wedges with a drizzle of caramel sauce.

Caramel Sauce, courtesy of Food.com

p.s. this sauce is to die for. I ate the last of it right after taking this photo. I might have even licked the bowl, but I’ll never admit it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 4:08 pm

    >Mouth = watering. Cambri made a pumpkin chiffon cake for Thanksgiving with a gingersnap crust, and I swore I would never look at grahm crackers again. Thanks for sharing!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

