Skip to content

Christmas Memory Making: Yoda and The Robot

December 1, 2010

58bb8450cb76a84ad90bec3e17611a42

Christmas is, for me, a time of memory making.

I have so many happy memories of Christmas, thanks to my mom. I desperately want to pass on the same gift to my children.

This year has been especially fun as Scrappy is now old enough to remember, years from now, all that we experience.

Hanging lights outside with Dad; “helping” hold the ladder. Taking the train into downtown to see Christmas in the Park. I think he liked the train more than the lights…or Mudge, our house elf, who spies on the boys by day, carrying tales of their naughty and nice-ness home to Santa by night.

I think part of me is a little afraid that I have a limited number of Christmases with my children. I may not have a lifetime of opportunities to instill these memories. There are so many “what ifs…?”

One tradition I especially loved was picking out an ornament of my own each year. I still have these treasures, back to the very first: a wooden Santa marionette that was bought on Pier 39 when I was five. They all hang on my family tree now.

I wanted to do the same for our boys – ornaments that they would choose, that would travel with them one day to their own homes and delight their own children.

Glittery snowflakes or icicles, maybe.

Silly Santos, or snowmen, or nutcrackers.

Miniature stockings, or ice skates, or elves.

So many charming and delightful choices…

Yet what did they choose to grace our family tree this year, and one day, their own?

 

What’s hanging on YOUR tree?

 

 

sig

 

 

 

Check out the series 31 Days to Shine – 31 days of blogging about a life that glows through the cracks and broken places. 

The conversation continues on Facebook. Follow my author page for more insights and resources about living a shiny, abundant and beautiful life. 

Like this post? Subscribe to receive future posts via email or a quarterly newsletter that positively glimmers with good stuff. 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2010 4:09 pm

    >That's because you are a BOY MOM!

  2. December 1, 2010 4:32 pm

    >I, too, pulled out my box of ornaments. Each one has an attached memory. Your Mother gave me a set of 3 Victorian Houses. I cherish them, for they are tangible expressions of your Mother's love for me and represent all the sweet memories of time time spent on holiday escapades at various shops, malls, Country Mercantile, Cost Plus and those amazing German cookies (can't spell their name). Another dear memory are "Christmas at Our House" tours. We gathered loads of ideas and then trotted off to the less expensive stores to shop for craft items, to emulate the fanciful creations of artsy decorators. I remember the smells of spiced tea and the aroma of hot-out-of-the-oven cherry scones. Oh how I thank God for these treasures so sweetly tucked into my heart. I love you, sweetie. What you are doing for your sons is priceless!!

  3. December 1, 2010 8:58 pm

    >Those are great! They made me smile this afternoon! My 9 yr old son has picked some doozies out over the years too. And it seems now the oddest, ugliest choices are the ones I look forward to pulling out of the boxes each Christmas season. They'll probably always be my favorites:)

  4. December 3, 2010 12:38 am

    >Ha! I love it. You know, I actually always love the non-christmasy ornaments. We have a pickle that I love, for example. I bet they will love those silly ornaments when they get older. 🙂

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

