Skip to content

Unpacking the Christmas Crazy

December 2, 2010

Unpacking the Christmas Crazy

I went a little crazy tonight.

The printer wouldn’t print. The envelopes to our Christmas cards kept getting jammed. And, oh-my-gosh it’s already December 1 and I don’t have my CHRISTMAS CARDS IN THE MAIL YET!!!!

And then, I couldn’t find the cord to the camera.

My eyes are dry and gritty. It’s too cold outside and all these heavy clothes are making me feel claustrophobic; not to mention it’s too darn hot in here.

I was supposed to have all the small trees decorated by Sunday so all I had left was the big tree to do next Saturday.

Yet here it is WEDNESDAY (did I mention it was DECEMBER 1 ALREADY???) and I have red and green boxes littering three rooms and tissue paper scraps all over the floor.

Speaking of scraps, Scrappy has broken three ornaments already.

And they aren’t even all up yet.

Nothing, and I mean, nothing, on my checklist for today was done. Not a single item crossed off.

Except one:

Unpack the Nativity. It was the one my parents used to keep near the fireplace. Now it’s mine, and somehow, as I unwrapped those fragile figures, it all just dissappeared – the frustration and the noise in my head, the voices shouting my worthlessness. (Did I also mention that I’m tired?)

As I unwrapped each figure, some in paper towels and odd bits of tissue, I thought of the last time mom would have wrapped them up herself. Her hands holding them and carefully placing them, one by one, inside the stable, each figure, wrapt with joy.

Each china gaze directed towards the tiny man-child in the center.

This is a special moment for me each year. At times I’ve even cried as I watch their painted faces, imagining the inredulous joy they felt as they gathered around the manger. The first gift of Christmas – Emmanuel. God among us.

Like the scraps of tissue littering my floor are all those other tasks and tediums I’ve been fretting about. They are meaningless, trivial trappings disguising what really is the point.

Worthless but for what they were meant to contain:

Joy-filled faces. Worship. Delight.

For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counsellor, The mighty God, The everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.

May you find your peace amid the Christmas crazy this week and breathe in the breath of heaven,

sig

 

 

 

Check out the series 31 Days to Shine – 31 days of blogging about a life that glows through the cracks and broken places. 

The conversation continues on Facebook. Follow my author page for more insights and resources about living a shiny, abundant and beautiful life. 

Like this post? Subscribe to receive future posts via email or a quarterly newsletter that positively glimmers with good stuff. 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2010 9:17 pm

    >Adelle, this brought tears to my eyes. Such an important message you delivered. So glad you shared it with us today.

  2. December 2, 2010 9:31 pm

    >Beautiful. Thanks for the reminder!

  3. December 2, 2010 11:31 pm

    >I tell ya, this season is so up and down. I get crazed from all the to-do's, but then there are beautiful and quiet moments.

  4. December 3, 2010 12:07 am

    >OK….hope I don't get kicked out of the man club by admitting this….but that was beautiful. You know, if you keep doing this for another 30 or 40 years, it just might turn into something….(Unca' Randy)

  5. December 3, 2010 1:43 am

    >Adelle, you are spot on !! What a great post. The trappings only hide the true treasure :-)Blessings in Christ..Trish

  6. December 3, 2010 2:55 pm

    >Thanks for sharing this simple pleasure Love the picture ~~~JESUS ~~~

Trackbacks

  1. In Search of Peace and Joy | Adelle Gabrielson

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

