Skip to content

>Gratitude Monday

December 13, 2010

>

Family walks in the dark, moseying the neighborhood just to see who’s who and what’s what (in terms of Christmas lights, that is).

A trip to the grocery store, all four of us, that did not result in anyone crying (especially me).

Cookie dough on my keyboard, in my hair, all over my kitchen and the faces of two little boys, which begat two heaping plates of snowmen, sleighs, angels and…feet.

Laying in bed with Scooby, whispering prayers and goodnights, gazing out the window at the magic of icicle lights hanging down from the eaves.

Standing Scrappy in his window sill just to say “night night” to the lights up and down our street.

California autumn – we’re just a little later than the rest of you. There are maples on my street that would rival our front yard in Gorham. And our apple out back, such a nice climbing tree, has put on quite a golden show.

I’m writing from the brink of mayhem tonight – tomorrow begins six days of madness. Nine events: three performances, two brunches to bake for, two parties to attend, two gatherings to host. And, five days of school, homework, work and all the regular stuff we do…

I’m praying for good health and fair weather. Just get us through next Sunday morning and we’ll be fine. I can sleep after that…

P.S. Editor’s note: “guns” is slang for a guy’s arms. Just in case you were wondering…I wasn’t being lewd, just honest! They were…

p.p.s. On our way to church this morning, Scrappy, on the lawn, shouting at the top of his lungs:

“hello? helllloooo?” pause.

“God?” (still shouting)

“Are you dere?”

“Hey God, are you in heaven?” (still shouting)

“Helllooooooooo?”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2010 7:23 am

    >Oh, the crazy days of December. 🙂

  2. December 15, 2010 3:55 pm

    >Made me smile – "God are you dere?" 🙂 This is a sweet time with young children isn't it? I'm trying to remind myself of that with full calendars and the craziness that seems to come when I flip the calendar to December. It'll slow down soon enough I guess … Merry Christmas 🙂

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

