Skip to content

>Worth Repeating: The King’s Speech

December 27, 2010

>
I have never reviewed a movie on this blog. I’m a bluestocking, you see, and films are really just recreational brain candy. I love them, but it’s rare to find a film that moves me the way literature can.

That is, until we saw this last night. Truly, one of the best films I’ve ever seen. Easily Best Picture, Best Actor…by a landslide.

Colin Firth (whom we love already, ever since he jumped in a lake), as King George VI is simply outstanding. Brillant. Helen Bonham Carter, as his wife Elizabeth – splendid.

It is the true story of Britain’s King George VI, or Bertie as he was known to his family. A story, despite my mother’s delight and fascination with all things Anglo, I had never heard.

I could go on and on. Go see this.

P.S. It seems that it is now a requirement for all British actors, as rite of passage perhaps, to have appeared in at least one Harry Potter film.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2010 11:24 pm

    >I totally want to see this! I love Colin Firth. He had me at his reindeer sweater and "I like you, just as you are" line in Bridget Jones Diary. He is also one to remember in Love Actually.

  2. December 27, 2010 11:50 pm

    >My favorite actor and I'd see it for him alone, but will wait till after the holidays and go see it with a girlfriend.

  3. December 28, 2010 12:39 am

    >I absolutely cannot wait to see this! Whether it will actually come to a theater near me is highly debatable. May have to wait for the dvd.

  4. December 28, 2010 7:31 pm

    >can't wait to see this!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

