Skip to content

What do Apple Pies and Aliens Have in Common?

January 4, 2011
tags: ,

There was a pie…incident…over the holidays.

I love homemade pie crust. I can make it, too, but not without a lot of tension and everybodygetoutofthekitchen kindof stress.

I have to concentrate.

After not just one, but two pies, I was cleaning up the counter when I realized that the gorgeous, perfectly crusted apple pie behind me on the counter was…missing the final ingredient.

The butter. The two tablespoons of butter that you daub on top of the apples, UNDER the crust, that makes the filling just that much more fabublous.

I forgot the butter. It hit me, and I will admit to you, I lost it. All that work, and I was left with a sub-par pie. Oh no. The horror of it all. My pie was not perfect.

I started putting on an extraordinary display of what NOT to do under extreme durress and dissapointment. Horrific, really. Dreadful. (I ended up on my knees apologizing to everyone later.)

But G, he didn’t get mad. He didn’t scold. He gently tip-toed in, and asked quietly (so as not to enrage the freakish monster, further) what the problem was.

I told him, and to his credit, he did not laugh.

I kept scrubbing flour off the counter as he went to work behind me.

Soon enough, he proudly asked me to turn around. There was my beautiful pie, with a few extra seams, but very hardly marred. He slit the top crust along the vents I had already cut, folding each little wedge back and dropping in the missing daubs of butter.

He folded them all back in to pace and you would almost never know that anything had ever happened.

I was shocked (and pleased). My precious pie was saved.

How did you do it? Where did you get the idea?

Aliens! He replied cheerfully.

From the movie Aliens!

We’ll just leave the rest up to your imagination.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 6:52 am

    >Huh… Of course… This is exactly what I thought immediately. (Not at all, I am definitely not on the same G wavelength.) But I appreciate the flashes of even more brilliance than G's normal brilliance.

  2. January 4, 2011 4:20 pm

    >I just burst(ed?) out laughing in the middle of my office. Only your husband, I swear. (Wait, maybe mine too. We did marry some sci-fi geeks, didn't we?)

  3. January 4, 2011 5:35 pm

    >That's awesome! And hilarious. Way to save the pie and the wife's sanity!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

