Skip to content

Worth Repeating: The Me Project

January 10, 2011


There are a few rare moments in a lifetime when you can point to a specific instant and say: There. That was when my life changed direction. Right there.

It happened one Sunday morning in August, 1996 when a Maine Yankee sat behind me at church.

It happened the day my brother called and told me mom had had a heart attack. I can never walk into The Gap anymore without remembering the moment when I took that call.

It happened when I stood in front of The Execution of Lady Jane Gray in the National Gallery of Art, London and I cried, it was so heartbreaking and so beautiful. I changed my major as soon as I got back to the states.

It happened when the little white stick had a plus sign on it. (Well, both times.)

It happened the day I started this blog, just a little over a year ago.

It happened when I read the first page of this book.

Kathi Lipp spoke before my mothers group this weekend, and while her topic was an earlier, and just as delightful, publication, this is the one I was interested in. This is the book she’s been nurturing, cultivating, and longing to see in print for a decade. This is her baby.

It’s not even officially out yet, but I was privileged enough to get an early copy. I sat down to read and didn’t stop all afternoon. I picked it up again at bedtime and kept going until I fell asleep and dropped it on my face.

If you’ve ever longed to accomplish something that seems enormous and impossible – this book is for you.

If you’ve looked at yourself in the mirror every morning and thought: I could be someone different, but I don’t know how to get there – this book is for you.

If you’ve ever dreamed of being, doing, trying something new, something different, yet you feel as if the daily mundane were shackling you to your current state – this book is for you.

Life happens – that’s one of the underlying themes of this blog. Life happens while you’re making other plans (thank you John Lennon). This book is for those of us (all of us) living real lives – the first line says it all: Is it possible to have a real life and pursue a dream at the same time?

Yes.

This book is about that one step, that one shift, that one tipping point that changes everything.

Preorder a copy of The Me Project, and check out her other amazing publications over on Kathi’s website.

No comments yet

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

