Skip to content

>What’s Your Happy?

January 12, 2011

>
Happiness comes in many forms.

And let’s just be clear – I’m not talking about Joy – not this time. Joy is that thing you get when you decide to – to be joyful in suffering. Joyful in hope. Joyful in Jesus.

I’m just talking about happy. Happy smiley sunny grin. Warm fuzzies and soft cats. Slippers on a cold night, boys in blankies, hugs from my hubby, flowers in the windowsill, warm days in winter, and roses. Peanut butter and honey, hot coffee, warm cookies.

Just happy.

Happiness came today, in a big flat envelope. Right there on my front porch, smiling away at me, with it’s own little halo of happy. The handwriting, from Patty, was happy.

I knew precisely what was inside.

12 whole pages of “I love you” to hang on a nail in my kitchen.

For the last seven years, I’ve had a calendar of happy hanging on my wall. Brought to me by my dear friend Patty B. Even though she abandoned me (left the area) about five years ago, she still sends my calendar each and every year. For a week or so in early January, that space of wall is blank. And cold. And lonely.

You see, it’s not just that Patty makes me happy (because she does, oh, but she does!) it’s that Mary Engelbreit IS JUST PLAIN HAPPY. And hilarious, I might add.

I don’t know what I would do without that Mary E. on my kitchen wall. Her monthly illustrations are charming, and often, laugh out loud funny.

What’s not to love?

What’s your happy? The small and the simple that brings a smile to your face and warmth to your heart?

No comments yet

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

