Skip to content

Gratitude Monday: Antidote

February 7, 2011

Bitterness.

Discontentment’s best friend. Like a shadow, it creeps along behind, filling in the cracks. So subtle you never know it’s even there until you are drowning in it.

Bitterness.

The unwelcome companion of sorrow and dissapointment. Of loss and waiting.

Bitterness.

Blinding, deceptive and selfish.

What then, is the antidote for such poison?

Personally, I think it might be gratitude.

Day in, day out, refocusing on the good. Even the little things.

I may not have everything I want, but I have everything I need.

Gratitude.

It unfetters the soul, unshields the eyes. What was hidden, revealed.

I may not have everything I want, but I have everything I need.

Gratitude.

Finding blessing in the midst of darkness. Suffering. Pain. Dissapointment. Still joy.

I may not have everything I want, but I have everything I need.

I’ve struggled long with discontent. At times, even bitterness. With expectations unfulfilled. It’s not what I had planned. It’s not what I expected.

Or simply, it’s taking too long.

I may not have everything I want, but I have everything I need.

Over time, I find that the simple act of thankfulness, of gratitude, is the perfect contradiction for discontent.

Donna didn’t ask for cancer. It’s not what she had planned. Chemotherapy was not on the agenda for what she expected to accomplish in 2011.

Donna is in week 4 of the first round of her 12 week chemo infusions. How many rounds there will be, only time will tell. There is no road map, when it comes to cancer.

What God Hath Promised

No comments yet

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

