Skip to content

>Worth Repeating: Black Heels

February 18, 2011

>
If for no other reason than to support a blogger who has gone from Oklahoma rancher’s homeschooling wife to stratospheric celebrity, I had to buy Ree Drummond’s book Black Heels to Tractor Wheels. City girl meets country boy, it is the story of her romance with “Marlboro Man.” Ree spins a funny and romantic tale that I thoroughly enjoyed. From cow poop to wild fires, the same personal and funny style in which she maintains her wildly-popular blog makes this just as enjoyable to read.

“If Marlboro Man was wrong, I didn’t want to be right.

Where would all of this lead? At times I asked myself and wondered. Despite having put my plans for Chicago on hold, despite my knowledge that trying to go one day without seeing Marlboro Man was futile, despite how desperately in love I know I was, I still at times thought this might just be a temporary glitch in my plans, a wild hair I needed to work out of my system before getting on with my life. Like I was at Romance Camp for a long, hot summer, playing the part of the cowgirl.

The time was drawing near, however, when Marlboro Man would take the bull by the horns and answer that question for me, once and for all.”

No comments yet

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

