Skip to content

>Gratitude Tuesday: Another Perspective

March 1, 2011

>The daughter of one of the teachers on the campus where I work had a bone marrow transplant last week.

This comes after years of struggling with cancer and more. She has every right to be angry – she’s in her early twenties. A newlywed. She should be traveling and enjoying her youth, not spending it in a hospital room.

She has every right to be bitter. But she’s not.

They keep a blog for friends and family only, and on that blog, I found this post:

Gratitude

Colossians 2:6-7

“So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live your lives in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.”

I know we’re trying to keep this blog light-hearted, but I also want to be serious for a moment and write about a few of the things I’m grateful for since being here. We’ve probably all heard how it helps you to find little things to be grateful for even in the midst of hardship, but I can’t emphasize enough how much that is true. This morning I was out praying while walking the hallway (my power-walks have been rescheduled to evening since I’m now hooked up every morning at 3 am for extra hydration) and I was thinking about all these “little” things that I’m grateful for. First of all, I am so thankful that I’m being treated [at this hospital]. The nurses, doctors, and staff are amazing, both as medical experts and human beings. Yesterday, my doctor told me that my numbers are almost normal, which hasn’t happened in over a year. I’ve been able to feel fairly strong and eat well since being here, and though it won’t last forever, it’s a huge and unexpected blessing! Despite waking up multiple times a night, I’m getting 6-7 hours of sleep, which is unheard of for me during all of my last hospital stays. I got cute new covers for my [face] mask, one with butterflies and one with stars, which of course I have to switch out to match my outfit :). One of the psychiatrists did a progressive muscle relaxation session with me and my friend yesterday, which was very helpful and a great resource to use down the road for anxiety and nausea. The list goes on and on…

No comments yet

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

