Skip to content

Not alone.

March 11, 2011

I have this nasty habit that, when things really go south, I withdraw and see only inward. My inner “You Stink” is hollering, and all I perceive is that I am alone, so totally alone.

I am alone when my almost four year old is wetting his pants. On purpose.

I am alone as I daily carry a screaming child across the parking lot in front of hundreds of other calm, well-behaved and quiet children and their parents.

I am alone when my kids are prancing around the house naked, and we were supposed to be pulling out of the driveway 10 minutes ago.

I am alone with the tantrums, and the battles of wills, and the sheer madness of it all.

The thing is…I’m not really alone. I know you are out there. I’ve run into three of you today. You all had your own stories – of boys and girls alike – strong-willed, stubborn little stinkers who are making us ask ourselves “shouldn’t we have just gotten a dog?!”

You are super moms. We are super moms. My friend Chandra keeps reminding me…it was no accident that I became their mother.

God does not make mistakes.

We can do this. We were chosen. We were chosen to be the mothers of these hoooligans, and mother them we will, come hell or high water or pee on the floor.

We can do this. We must.

Because we’re in this together.

When my kids really perform outside the box, I reward them with a gummy (gummie?) bear. We like Trader Joe’s the best. I think mommies should get a gummy bear from time to time, don’t you? For those nine times in a row that we did NOT lose our cool as we were sassed by our kids, or for remaining dispassionate in the face of their fury, or for doing four loads of laundry in one night. We need a reward system.

Maybe we should instate the Gummy Bear Awards – come brag on yourself once a week on Gratitude Monday and tell everyone why you deserve a reward! Maybe I’ll even do a random drawing of everyone who comments that day and actually send you something….hmmmm…thoughts?

No comments yet

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

