Skip to content

>Something new: Five Minute Friday

March 18, 2011

>On Waiting

Hampered by their slowness, I wait, patiently and impatiently, at the crosswalk. They founder in puddles and hop to catch raindrops and all I can think of is that I want to be at my desk right now, conquering lists of emails and returning messages and whittling down the tasks. But I wait and I hide my worry and I can’t help myself – I smile.

They do not know the meaning of hurry.

They have no agenda, no places to be, nor things to accomplish. They are living in this moment, right here, right now, under the mottled sky and they are content.

For an instant, I feel a flash of envy and I wish I could be unhurried, too, but the moment passes and we shuffle across the crosswalk, foundering in puddles, jostling and shoving and moving towards the next thing on the list.

In the back of my mind I do not forget, that sliver of a moment, as I waited and wondered and tried to remember – what was it like before all of the hurry? When I was small and unfettered and lived in the instant, and foundered in puddles and hopped to catch raindrops and didn’t stop to wonder what was going to happen after that.

No comments yet

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

