Skip to content

>Five Minute Friday: Waking Up

March 25, 2011

>

The Rules (in case you were wondering):

1. Write for only five minutes.
2. Link back to Gypsy Mama’s Blog and invite others to join in.
3. Go leave some comment love for the five minuter
who linked up before you.

Want to join me?

Waking Up

The furnace kicks on and the smell of bacon fills the room along with hot air. I’m so comfortable I cannot move, drowning in the giant comforter.

I can hear the soft murmur of voices down the hall. My three man-boys around the table – one more man than boy, two more boy than man. They are discussing maple syrup, and analyzing its placement. One prefers to dip. The other to soak.

A chair protests as it is shoved away from the table. The beep of the microwave. The espresso starts to screech and I know that my quiet moments alone on this Saturday morning are coming to a close.

Three man-boys troop down the hallway like a herd of elephants. Or perhaps monkeys. They pile on the bed, the coffee and milk land on the table by my side and they are so happy to see me. And I’m so happy to see them.

No comments yet

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

