Skip to content

Gratitude Part II

April 26, 2011

>

Our first Easter with a yard – and what a yard. Glory hallelujah, but I love my lawn, and my apple tree, and my callas and my maples. My roses and my pots and primroses and every last little green and growing thing. We’ve come a long way, baby.

Eight years – but it was worth every blade of grass. I crawled around on my hands and knees, seven months pregnant with Scooby, putting each of those 14 roses in the ground. And some of them, two or three times (couldn’t make up my mind. So accomodating, roses!) There were many seasons when I couldn’t bear to even go out there – the weeds, up to my eyeballs, chased me away.
But little by little, shovel by shovel, wheelbarrow by wheelbarrow, we conquered the wilderness. Would I do anything differently? I don’t know. I just don’t know. There is something about the labor required that makes enjoyment of the result all the sweeter.
No comments yet

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

