Skip to content

All I Can Say Is, It Was My Name First

April 28, 2011

I feel oddly flattered when people rave about Adele. Como no, I ask you?

I’m obsessed with this song. It was playing in Bath and Body Works today, and as I smelled hand soap off by myself in the corner (4 for $15!), I was blithely crooning along happily, basking in her glory.

After all, it was my name long before it was hers…long before. It was my name round about 1960 or so. (Clarification – that was LONG LONG LONG before I was born.) When my mother was 13, she read Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre for the first time. Then and there she decided that she’d name her first daughter Adele.

And so she did.

(Incidentally, Adelle is my middle name, not my first. And she liked it better as Adelle, than Adele. She also changed the spelling of my first name just because she liked it better – Catharine. Yet, she called me by my middle name from birth. She just liked doing things her own way. I’m glad she did.)

 Here’s another “I Had it First”…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2011 7:09 am

    you write the best posts. i loved this adelle. happy saturday.

  2. May 2, 2011 9:57 am

    Thank you! and happy Monday to you!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

