Skip to content

Five Minute Friday: Deep Breath

May 13, 2011

Deep breath because when life is on High I forget to breathe. Hustle and bustle and must-get-this-done-today – it all  requires so much energy, so much output that air becomes optional.

Deep breath as I try to find a calm place inside of myself while everything around me is swirling, too fast, the noise and the cries and the small bodies grasping for a hold, a crack, in my crumbling facade.

Deep breath as I sit, finally, for the first time in hours, on a couch that is old and thread-bare, to share a few moments of adult conversation with the man who is mine, or sit silently beside while we watch something that is not animated for a while.

Deep breath as my mind awakens before my eyes do, and I hear the noise of the day already begun, giggles and whines, barefeet on hardwood, microwave beeps, sizzle on the stove, steam in the latte.

Deep breath as I whisper silently “The Lord is my Shepherd” and plead for the strength and the dignity to get out of my warm shelter, to put feet on cold floor, to allow the noise in, to be drawn into their world once more. Deep breath as I do it again.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2011 8:37 am

    So blessed to have found your writing this morning!

  2. Mary Hess permalink
    May 13, 2011 12:30 pm

    This is great. Thank you for sharing your five minutes today. 🙂

    And I LOVE your haircut in your header pic. :))

  3. May 13, 2011 9:24 pm

    Ah yes, doing it again. And again. Blessings as you keep on keepin’ on.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

