Skip to content

These Small Hours…

June 3, 2011

This song is a tradition for me, my anthem on the last day of school. A reminder – it’s going by SO fast. Don’t forget to stop and listen. Watch. Be present in the moment.

I walked him to class this morning, a tradition that has, in recent months, already begun to fall by the wayside in lieu of a quick hug and a hurried “have a great day!” as blue hood bobs off to the courtyard, alone.

But today I took the time to sit (shivering, I might add. Coldest June I’ve ever known…) with him in the courtyard. After the Pledge of Allegiance, all the kids with summer birthdays go up front, and the few of us remaining sang “Happy Birthday” to all 25 of them. Scooby stood proudly up there with them, while I sat proudly, singing my  heart out, enjoying that one small moment.

Then we walked, hand in hand, out to the portable classrooms for the very last time. Next year he’ll be upstairs with the older kids, and he may not want to hold Mommy’s hand as he walks to class. And I tucked that small moment away in my pocket, too.

I took his picture as he stood in line on the ramp – the higglddy-piggledy jostling laughing line in front of the door. And that small moment was precious to me as well.

 

He walked across the stage later that day, accepting awards for Excellence in Art and also in Science. A true Renaissance man – equally analytic as creative.

I sat in the audience and clapped till my palms ached, and the tears ran down my face, and that small moment was over and gone, another year, another day, another hour and they move on to new things and different things and better things.

But the small moments, these still remain.

As I look at that sweet, proud, smiling face, the one question that is on my heart is: “Will he ever have front teeth again?”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Sylvia permalink
    June 5, 2011 1:55 pm

    I think this is truley the other part of Joelle’s advice to not wish any stage away, “take time to enjoy the moment” and you did it so well! I so miss those days. Good Post Adelle!

  2. Pat permalink
    June 6, 2011 11:24 am

    I am glad I can enjoy these moments too because you are taking the time to share them with such joy and creativity. Love you all, Patty

  3. June 8, 2011 10:08 pm

    Great that you could be there for this moment with your son.

  4. Bethany Hall Fitelson permalink
    June 4, 2012 12:27 pm

    So sweet. What a beautiful description. You really make those images come alive! And I love your closing line. I imagine those teeth will grow in eventually!

  5. June 4, 2012 12:40 pm

    Lovely reminders to take life not just one day at a time, but one moment at a time…

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

