Skip to content

Week ‘o Tweets

June 10, 2011

Do you ever find yourself thinking and writing in 140 characters or less? Snippets of the real life that is happening all along the way. Not significant enough to warrant a dissertation, but reality nonetheless. It’s been that kind of week for me.

  • 10pm Monday night. Three year old popped out of his room and demanded a tattoo. I hope this isn’t a sign of things to come.
  • Had to borrow $6 from older son to pay cash-only parking fee at the zoo. It was in change. The parking attendant loves me.
  • Cost Plus World Market sent me a $10 gift card, DSW contributed to my latest obsession with metallic sandals, and Rubio’s is buying me dinner. I love birthday week. Who’s next?
  • Have befriended Wine Guy at our local Trader Joe’s. He’s introducing me to all the best wines under $10. In his words “At Trader Joe’s, our $10 wines should taste like the other guy’s $20 wines.” Have I ever mentioned how much I love Trader Joe’s?
  • Did you know that cockroaches like to lay eggs in the folds of paper bags? I was just informed this while lugging an armload of recycled bags up to our church’s food pantry. I’ll let you just imagine my reaction as I clutched about 50 bags in my arms. I’m still twitching…
  • I’ve just exceeded 1,000 comments on my blog. Wow. That’s huge – for me, at least. 1,000 times someone has taken the time to react or respond to something I’ve written. 1,000 times I’ve been encouraged by their effort. I send you all 1,000 thanks…
  • Outdoor wedding on Sunday promised rain but did not deliver. What it did deliver was a dog who did the merengue and “walked” down the aisle on two legs, wearing a veil and a white tutu.
  • Took a day off with the boys who were at home on Tuesday. We had a great day, capped by a family dinner at the table. I was asleep by 8pm…
  • John Robert Hawthorne Hamby joined the world on Monday. I like to think that his sweet grandma Lyn kissed his downy head as he left heaven for earth and joined his elated parents, Chris and Molli up in Mendocino. He is truly a love letter of grace, and mercy, and life from God to all of us.
  • “Don’t cut me! Don’t cut me! Oh, please! Don’t cut me!” Scooby, at the salon, to his new hair stylist. She replies, concerned: “Who cut your hair last?” He says: “My mom.”
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Christy A. permalink
    June 10, 2011 8:33 am

    For the record, if that happened on Monday that was two days BEFORE I debuted my tattoo at your house. NMF!

  2. June 10, 2011 8:46 am

    Funny how we think we have to write a book to tell a story. Thanks for sharing your 140 character stories. Loved the last one.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

