Skip to content

Life in 140 Characters

June 24, 2011

On Red Velvet Birthday Cupcakes – after 4 hours of laboring over the perfect, moist cake recipe, upon serving, both kids licked the frosting off and declared themselves “full.” Next year, cake mix.

Once again, the hand that rocks the cradle is the hand that rules the world. Case in point: Sunday morning, June 19, Scrappy runs up to his dad and yells “Happy Mother’s Day, Daddy!’

My three-going-on-thirteen-year-old just replied : “Yes, way!” when I responded with astonishment (“No way!”) at one of his recent exploits.

“Just like riding a bike.” I’m proof-positive that you really never forget. Took my first spin in the last 20 years or so with Scooby on Sunday. A bit wobbly at first, but it all came right back. Not quite ready to say “Look Scoob! No hands!” however…

Dress Barn. I don’t get it. What lives in a barn? Cows do. Why would anyone buy clothing from someplace that implies they are livestock?

Scrappy singing in the car this morning: “He’s got all the little motorcycles in His hands, he’s got all the little motorcycles in His hands, He’s got the whole world in His hands…”

Last night we were headed to In ‘N Out, but ran across Lillie Mae’s House of Soul Food. A quick “Yelp” and we decided to give it a try based on the reviews. Scooby was devastated until we told him they had fried catfish. “What?! I’ll take fried catfish over a burger ANY DAY!”

My kids are weird. What can I say? 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2011 11:12 am

    Oh, I think I LOVE your kids. In n’ Out, eh? Must be a Californian. That is my husband’s favorite, but I’ve conditioned him to choose the Habit cause they make a yummy albacore sandwich, so we’re both happy. I love this post – brief vignettes, windows into your life. Thank you.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

