Skip to content

Five Minute Friday: Older

August 26, 2011

Our mornings are different now. What was once quiet and still, calm, is noisy pounding bare feet like elephants up and down the hallway. There are no diaper bags to pack or carseats to lug. Like magic, they emerge from their rooms wearing clothes instead of jammies that they’ve donned by themselves.

They are older now.

Guests are coming and the mom is in a tizzy because the floor is covered with toys and someone missed the toilet bowl and the kitchen table is covered in dishes and the cat has, as usual, shed in large clumps all over the family room carpet.

But, like magic, they all chip in and the bathroom gets scrubbed, the floor gets vaccummed and the dishes somehow make their way to the sink. And I wonder how we got here so soon – this new-found ability to help and to dress. To talk and converse. To learn and to discover and to wonder.

They are older.

He holds my hand in the parking lot, as we cross the busy lanes of cars pulling up and dropping off and children laughing all around us lugging backpacks and lunch boxes. He really doesn’t have to anymore – his blonde head is above the sight-line of the cars and he’s hard to miss in his red shirt, but he holds my hand because he wants to.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2011 11:33 am

    LIfe goes by fast, doesn’t it? I can’t wait to have children of my own, but I know that they’ll grow up way too fast. Great post, btw!

  2. August 26, 2011 12:00 pm

    “He really doesn’t have to anymore . . . but He holds my hand because he wants to.” How sweet your young man is, totally warms my heart.

  3. August 26, 2011 7:05 pm

    I loved reading this. Reminds me of my boys. Heartwarming for sure!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

