Skip to content

On the Parenting of Dinosaurs

September 20, 2011

How does a dinosaur say good night?

Does a dinosaur slam his tail and pout? Does he throw his teddy bear all about? Does a dinosaur stomp his feet on the floor and shout: “I want to hear one book more!”? DOES A DINOSAUR ROAR?

They are cunning. Crafty. Conniving and creative.

Working together, they create diversions. Bickering, fighting among themselves only to suddenly turn on their opponents. Civil unrest becomes outright rebellion in the blink of an eye.

They can remain latent and cooperative for days, only to burst forth with renewed vigor, indomitable wills as yet untamed. Catching you off-guard. The week was going so well!

They are cunning, so very cunning. Manipulative even. Using wiles and cuteness, they distract and divert. Was that a rule just broken? A boundary crossed? I didn’t even notice. I am blinded by blue eyes and dimples.

Lulled by routine and structure, we find solidarity for a time. Naively, I am caught off guard – still –  when the calm breaks out into storm and once again, my insurgents are rattling locks, testing boundaries, vainly searching for weaknesses. Or not so vainly…

I am reminded of the cunning creativity of the Velociraptors in Jurassic Park. Dinos that think. Or rather, out-think.

Do you ever get what you want by complaining? I ask, annoyed.

Yes. He says, looking me dead in the eye and smirking. I do.

Quote above from How Do Dinosaurs Say Good Night? by Jane Tolen & Mark Teague

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sylvia permalink
    September 20, 2011 8:04 pm

    Good one Adelle – I am sharing this with my blogger friend at work who has twin boys!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

