Skip to content

Everyone Needs Compassion. ‘Specially Boys.

September 27, 2011

Everyone needs compassion

A love that’s never failing

Let mercy fall on me

Everyone needs forgiveness

The kindness of a Saviour

The hope of nations.

So often they find them. The cracks in my varnish, footholds of my folly. In this parenting journey, I think I spend more time falling down than I do walking.

I get back up. Grace that covers a multitude of failures covers me as it covers them. I don’t win every battle. In fact, I lose many of them.

I have given up my edge of authority and leadership willingly at times. Have you been there? We lay down a line we never should have laid down. They cross it and now where are we? Left with executing a consequence that they deserve, but we never should have put them in the position of deserving it.

Just this week this happened to me. I was angry. I laid down the law and he broke it. But there were extenuating circumstances involved – circumstances which impeded his ability to make right choices; wisdom, maturity and experience among them. I was left with doling out a consequence that was too large, too heavy for those small shoulders.

Do I stick to my guns? Retain my authority? If I give in, he’ll push me again. When the next time comes, my authority will be in question.

Who cares?

There will be other chances. He may not have as much respect for my authority today as he ought to, but what he did get to see was a measure of grace. Not mine, but His. In the end, which is more important?

All that really matters is that they are still pointed in the right direction. We veer off course from time to time, but in the end, as long as we’re still headed to that unwaivering point on the horizon, they’ll be ok. We’ll all be ok.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Bethany Hall Fitelson permalink
    September 27, 2011 9:39 am

    Thanks for sharing so openly about your parenting experiences! You’re an amazing mom, but it’s so good to have this reminder that we will all make mistakes and it’s okay to step back and say “I made a parenting mistake, we’ll try again tomorrow” without feeling like a total failure who just ruined her children. Thanks for that!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

