Skip to content

Thankful for Ordinary

October 7, 2011

To be thankful.
Stopping in the moment to realize
Gems of blessing
Amidst the raindrops.

To be thankful
Breathe and think
Gratitude doesn’t happen on the run
It is slow food

To be thankful
Still and quiet and let the heart speak
Drowned out under
Urgency’s loud demands

To be thankful
For a rainy morning
A steaming mug of spicy tea
Candles in the evening
Soup on the stove
Little boys that all at once
Make me want to snatch myself baldheaded
And kiss them all over
I just can’t help myself.

To be thankful.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2011 9:12 am

    Beautiful words. Beautiful truth.

  2. October 7, 2011 12:57 pm

    great post!!! try to remember to be thankful daily…..not always that easy!!

  3. October 7, 2011 3:56 pm

    Oh…to be thankful….
    Truly, is it “slow food”. If only we (I!) would slow down long enough to see, hear, taste and digest ALL THE MANY BLESSINGS in my life. To be thankful for what seems ordinary, but kissed by God, is anything BUT that.
    Beautiful words from I can sense to be, a beautiful heart-
    Loved my moments here today-
    ~Stacy

  4. October 8, 2011 10:29 am

    Thanks for swinging by my site and your awesome comments! Have a great weekend!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

