Skip to content

Gratitude: Husbands

October 15, 2011

Nothing like a few days on your own to realize how totally and extraordinarily awesome your husband is.

I can look past the open cupboard doors, the dirty socks in the family room, the messy garage, and the myriad of idiosycracies…and say, bring ’em. I’ll take ’em all.

Just give me back my husband.

He’s away this weekend at a guys’ retreat, and I’m here, spaz-wrangling two boys back and forth to baseball practice, baseball games and bedtime – solo. I’ve had tantrums and melt downs and I’ve handled them all by myself. (Let me rephrase that – I’ve DEALT with tantrums and melt downs.) I’ve held my ground, and doled out consequences without any back-up. I’ve schlepped gear bags and snacks for the team. I’ve entertained a squirrelly boy through two hours of practice and three hours of game, and yes, a lot of that time was spent with Angry Birds. I save it for emergencies, and this was one.

They’re watching TV right now and I can breathe so I don’t feel guilty. We’re going to have a healthy dinner of corn dogs and I’m going to feel good about it. I might not even serve a vegetable – so there.(Last night I took them to Baskin Robbins after practice. For dinner. Mother of the Year, that’s me.) We’ll probably watch more TV tonight because frankly, I’m not so good at the wrestling thing and the Fun Run yesterday just about killed me. I’m still hurting. But the kid that ran twice as far as I did? Not even a twinge.

I will survive and God bless ‘im, the man will be home tomorrow.

And I will be So. Happy. He’s. Home.

I could do this on my own if I had to. But I’m so thankful that I don’t.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Pattyb permalink
    October 17, 2011 5:56 am

    I am also glad you don’t have to do it alone! You two are the perfect God chosen parents for those two wonderful boys!

  2. October 18, 2011 11:19 am

    Ugh, I’m doing the single mom gig this coming weekend and not looking forward to it. Here’s hoping you get some kid-free time to recoup… 🙂

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

