Skip to content

I Can Only Imagine

October 30, 2011

This morning, Shane Hughes, our Young Adult Minister, spoke and told us that the biggest problem with the world today is that our stories are too small.

We live vicariously, through internet and television. We hide in our little houses and our little cars and our stories are too small.

He challenged us to live bigger. Because bigger, in this case, is better. Nothing, you see, is impossible.  I can do all this through Him who gives me strength. Phil 4:14

He showed us a video that left most, if not all, in tears.

I’ve spent the last hour writing at my desk. Gabe is napping, and so is Scrappy. Scooby has been reading on the couch across the room and trying desperately not to interrupt my writing, but failing entirely.

I decided to take a break, and we watched this together. He sat on my lap, and I looked over his shoulder, and I cried. I tried to explain to him in a way that an 8 year old can understand what it means to push a full grown man in over 1,000 races. What 26 miles really means.

I can only imagine what it will be like someday when Rick Hoyt can dance, and my mom will hug her grandsons, and no one will ever get a phone call from their doctor telling them that they have cancer. I can only imagine what impossible things that God has planned for these two wild boys of mine. I can only imagine what challenges they have ahead of them that will seem insurmountable.

I can only imagine…

No comments yet

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

