Skip to content

To Celebrate…Or Not?

October 31, 2011

For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ._ Galatians 1:10

I received some great news recently…I’m so excited. God is really working in my life! This is huge – a big step forward. I’ve been praying that the right doors would open, I’ve been praying to be available to His leading.

But I can’t tell you about it. That would be boastful. Or bragging. Or something.

I’ll ask you to pray for me – that’s ok. It’s cool to tell you about where I’m failing. It’s ok to talk about my flaws. I can talk about the times when I’ve fallen down and messed up.

But the good stuff is taboo. Even when I know it’s not me that’s responsible – even when I know that God is moving and working and using me to His purpose. It’s still not ok.

For what we preach is not ourselves, but Jesus Christ as Lord, and ourselves as your servants for Jesus’ sake. For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,” made his light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of God’s glory displayed in the face of Christ.

But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us.

II Corinthians 4:5-7

Is it because I’m afraid that you will be judge me, or is it because you will judge me?

Does the fault lay in my own fear…or in how others respond?

Come back tomorrow for Part 2…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bethany Hall Fitelson permalink
    November 1, 2011 9:34 am

    It makes me sad that this is true! I was talking about this with coworkers last week – since we work in the Christian world sometimes it’s hard to have a job interview or a performance review and actually be open about your strengths and accomplishments. It feels counter-intuitive. Humility is an important Christian trait, but when did that become synonymous with thinking of ourselves as worse than we are, or presenting ourselves to others as worse than we are? I think humility means honesty – in good times and bad – and not beating ourselves up and keeping our victories under wraps! Can’t wait to hear the news…. 🙂

  2. Christina Aronen permalink
    November 1, 2011 7:37 pm

    Curious……..but respectful, so I won’t ask…..but I can only imagine! Yes, I’ll be praying for you!!! I wish you the best with what you choose to do next as a result of your good news!!!!
    Christina

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

