Skip to content

Worth Repeating: The”What’s for Dinner Solution

November 6, 2011

You know I love Kathi Lipp.

Her latest book, The What’s for Dinner? Solution has caused my husband fall in love with her, too.

As of today, Day 7, we have three family-sized portions of frozen chicken breasts, trimmed and marinated, waiting in the freezer. $1.77/pound, baby. You read that right…

We also have two meatloaves, pre-cooked, ready to re0heat. I know it’s plebian, but I LOVE meatloaf. The more ketchup, the better. And my kids love it too.

And three dozen Italian-style meatballs, a Gabe specialty.

And four packages of mirepoix, ready for the next soup adventure.

Two quiches, spinach, and two packages of cooked, cut chicken ready to bless a future stir fry or soup on the run, and a couple of Shepherd’s Pies, another Yankee favorite.

Why,all this work you ask? Because making dinner stinks. I hate it. I hate it when Gabe calls me a 3 o’clock every day and asks me “What’s for dinner?” I hate it because I don’t have an answer, and we end up eating an unplanned, unbalanced meal. I hate that our produce is rotting in the crisper, unused.

But no more.  With Kathi’s help, we are ending these old, wasteful, unhealthy ways. We are planning ahead. We are LOOPing (Left Overs On Purpose) and we are eating better, day by day, bit by bit.

So tomorrow, when the phone rings at 3pm, I can proudly say “Lentil soup! And whole wheat bread!” or “Grilled tandoori chicken!” or even, “Flank Steak, baked potatoes and salad!” with confidence and pride.

Day by day, bit by bit.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bethany Fitelson permalink
    November 6, 2011 8:41 pm

    Wow, I’m impressed! We are in the same boat with hurried dinners most nights, which usually means take-out or something out of the freezer. Dinner is almost never homemade and healthy. Thanks for passing this on, I may have to check it out!

  2. Christina Aronen permalink
    November 6, 2011 11:19 pm

    You made me a believer….going to check it out too!

  3. November 8, 2011 12:26 pm

    Yay! I just LOOPed leftover crock pot pork roast into amazing pork fried rice last night. I think it will have another debut as pork taquitos tomorrow 🙂 Yes, bit by bit, anything to help our sanity!

  4. November 8, 2011 5:05 pm

    This post has made me so happy – and tell Gabe I love him too…

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

