Skip to content

Gratitude Monday

November 14, 2011

Mondays are a day when I tend to be the most discontent. Here’s my little reminder that despite the Monday, there’s plenty to be thankful for.

When he threw up in the car this morning, it landed in his lap. And that 8 year olds can make it to the toilet in time. And that stomach flu usually doesn’t last long.

For Lysol and sick leave that covers family members as well as myself.

For autumn color that is finally singing the leaves of the Silicon Valley.

For friends that understand when a bad day becomes bad week, and how much I love Gerber Daisies. And the delightful pleasure of a florist delivery at work, just because.

For my guest posts today and tomorrow over on Kathi Lipp’s blog, and another post coming up next month on (in)Courage.

For friends that I can be real with – crabby and selfish, tearful and foolish. They love me when I’m wise and when I’m (more often) not.

For the grace and power of Jesus that, despite our fragile, broken selves, shines through us with an all=surpassing glory, turning every crack in this broken vessel into a conduit of Christ. By my brokenness, He is revealed. By my failures, He is glorified.

If this is your first time over here, I’m thankful you stopped by. For more about my study on our perfectly flawed selves, take a look at this category: On Being Perfect. Let me know what you think.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2011 9:17 am

    Thanks for the reminder, Adelle. Usually I read your gratitude Mondays and think “oh, that’s nice,” but today I’ve already screwed up pretty badly and I’m not even at work yet. So I really needed the reminder that we can always find something to be grateful for. You’re my Monday Pollyanna check.

  2. November 14, 2011 9:21 am

    Anytime, friend. Anytime.

  3. Bethany Hall Fitelson permalink
    November 14, 2011 9:58 am

    Wow, a kiddo threw up in the car and you’re finding ways to be grateful today instead of grumbling? I could use a lesson in attitude change from you. Thanks for the reminder that sometimes being grateful takes serious effort, but it’s worth the effort! I hope your week only improves from here!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

