Skip to content

Karen’s Gender Theory of Shopping

November 26, 2011

It’s official. My 8 year old is rapidly turning into a dude.

I took him with me to run errands today. We had several stores to hit – at one, after making a return (the reason I was there) I stopped and began to browse some sweaters that were marked down.

What are you doing? He asked.

I’m looking for a grey sweater. 

Why do you need a grey sweater?

For our family picture next weekend. 

Satisfied, he began holding up every shade of grey he could get his hands on. I turned them all down. Wrong shade, wrong style, wrong length.

His shoulders slumped. Then his chin popped up in surprise as I pulled out another.

That’s purple! That’s not grey! He sounded indignant.

I decided that this was an opportune time to educate him on The Gender Theory of Shopping, as told to me by my late mother.

Men are hunters. Guys want to bag the sweater. They are on a mission to hunt and deliver. Get in, get out, done and done.

Women are gatherers. Women want to see what else there might be to discover. While we might have started out looking for a sweater, there might be something Much More Important hiding on those racks and it’s our job to find it.

Scooby studied me for a moment as I finished my explanation and then replied.

Mom, I think guys have the right idea. Your way wastes WAY too much time. 

And once again, I realize just how very outnumbered I am in this house.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2011 2:50 pm

    That’s awesome! And tell Scooby I agree with him – shopping takes too much time. 🙂

  2. November 29, 2011 1:55 am

    as i read this, i thought to myself, “i did a lot of gathering online today.”
    thanks for sharing this 🙂 you know i really want to know what sweater you ended up buying!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

