Skip to content

Finding the Meaning of Christmas…Again.

December 4, 2011

Hurry, hurry, hurry, busy, hurry, hurry
Shop, bake, wrap, deliver
Hurry, hurry, hurry, busy, hurry, hurry
Dust, clean, scrub, iron
Hurry, hurry, hurry, busy, hurry, hurry
Deck and trim, garland and bow
Hurry, hurry, hurry, busy, hurry, hurry

Why?

And Mary said:

“My soul magnifies the Lord
and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior,
for he has been mindful
of the humble state of his servant.
From now on all generations will call me blessed,
for the Mighty One has done great things for me—
holy is his name.

I am T-minus 13 days to the busiest week of our year. Four performances, four nights of turning sticky, noisy hooligans into handsome, holiday-clad choir boys. Final semester exams, book reports, and delivering all the required gifts to teachers and office staff alike. Class parties (I’m in charge this year) and holiday gatherings – it all happens in one week.

It’s enough to make a girl lose a bit of sleep. And I do. I forget why we’re doing all this. I forget the point. I forget the big deal in all of the celebration – I forget what we’re celebrating. I find myself frustrated and forlorn, bereft of purpose.

I forget why. Like a child in a temper, I need a time-out. I need to breathe and remember…why.

His mercy extends to those who fear him,
from generation to generation.
He has performed mighty deeds with his arm;
he has scattered those who are proud in their inmost thoughts.
He has brought down rulers from their thrones
but has lifted up the humble.
He has filled the hungry with good things
but has sent the rich away empty.
He has helped his servant Israel,
remembering to be merciful
to Abraham and his descendants forever,
just as he promised our ancestors.”

Without the reason, the season is meaningless. It’s just a bunch of rush and bustle that means nothing, Gratuitous consumerism dictated by a greedy capitalist majority.

But when I remember why...when I remember the extraordinary gift of God With Us, Wonderful, Counselor, Prince of Peace, the very Son of the Most High God...nothing is meaningless. We deck and sing and give pieces of our joy to those around us, all of us rejoicing in a single act of grace that “brought down rulers from their thrones and lifted up the humble.”

We give, because of what we were given. We praise, because of His grace.

Like the angels, we cannot keep silent, or the shepherds, who didn’t just meander their way over to Bethlehem…they ran. It is time to celebrate. It is time to rejoice. It is time to throw parties and dress up and sing.

We sit in the glow a thousand twinkle lights in our darkened homes and we remember the very first light, the star that led the way and shone over the very best gift ever given.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Bethany Hall Fitelson permalink
    December 4, 2011 9:40 pm

    Love it. It’s tragic that this time of year has become so busy with obligations that we don’t get to slow down and enjoy it. Thanks for the reminder that all the celebrating is for a good reason, but that we need to take occasional time outs to worship. Worship and party, then repeat!

  2. December 5, 2011 8:19 am

    Thanks for this timely word, Adele. Renewed purpose in what we’re doing, and encouragement to savor it all. I’ve made a point of journaling through Advent this year and it’s helping tremendously.

  3. Gabe permalink
    December 6, 2011 3:51 pm

    And it’s a time to be thankful for the loved ones and lovers in our lives. Thank you for saying yes Sweetie!

    Your hubby.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

