Skip to content

To Be Mindful (Of Me)

December 8, 2011

Who am I that you are mindful of me?
That you hear me, when I call?

I sat in a room of women, recently, as our speaker told us of mindfulness.

Conscious, intentional focus on a single point in time, an object, or experience. Total, complete awareness of something, or someone.

We held a raisin in our palm as she asked us to examine it carefully.
How is it shaped?
What color is it?
What is the texture, the weight?
Now taste it. How does it feel in the mouth?
Chew it. Is it sweet?

Savor the flavor. Note the texture.

Intentionally and deliberately we focused on that one single itty bitty insignificant little raisin and to our amazement, it became wondrous, amazing, multi-faceted and curious.

Who am I that you are mindful of me?
That you hear me, when I call?

How often do we blow through our day, aimlessly driving to work and forgetting how we got there? The food we just ate – how did it taste? I can’t remember. What did I do yesterday? I can’t remember.

Mindfulness, our speaker shared with us, is a discipline. It brings focus, calms anxiety, eases tension. Be mindful of your emotions. Be mindful of what you eat. Be mindful of the moment you are in, not thinking about the one that’s yet to come.

My soul magnifies the Lord
and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior,
for He has been mindful
of the humble state of his servant.
From now on all generations will call me blessed,
for the Mighty One has done great things for me—
holy is his name.

~Luke 1

What is mankind that you are mindful of them,
human beings that you care for them?

~Psalm 8:4

Buddhism claims mindfulness as a spiritual discipline. Yet before Buddha…

Yhwh was mindful of me.
The God Who Sees, sees me.
God With Us is with me.
The Lord My Shepherd is aware of my well-being.
The Lord Will Provide provides for me.

One little itty bitty insignificant little raisin that is me, is really, to The Author of Life
Wonderful
Amazing
Multi-faceted
Beloved.

*Lyrics from Friend of God by Phillips, Craig and Dean

No comments yet

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

