Skip to content

Life List – 2012 Edition

January 8, 2012

A new year is always a great opportunity to see what you’re waiting for, and frankly, whether it’s worth it. I’ve crossed a few things off the list (again) that just aren’t as important to me any more.

What a year tells me is that – the list makes a difference. Writing down the goals, seeing them in black and white, makes a difference. There’s a lot more crossed off this year than there were before, and the ones that weren’t, well, some of them I just deleted. Not important any more.

What’s your list?

Publish. Something. Anything.
Get Gabe to Europe.
Own a convertible (again)
Glaciers in Alaska (twice!)
Get a professional family portrait taken (and again this year!)
Learn to ballroom dance.
Finish the backyard.
Have baseboards.
Take the boys to Hawaii
Use my china at least once a month.
Light candles. Often.
Ride (horseback) in Hyde Park.
Paint something worth hanging on a wall.
Finish Penny before the cows come home.
Always make piecrust from scratch.
Create a backyard you want to take pictures of.
Remodel the kitchen into something open and gorgeous.
Enlarge the master bedroom into something open and gorgeous.
Kiss the Blarney Stone (it didn’t help.)
Search for seashells in the Bahamas.
Ski Breckenridge (again, with Gabe).
Teach the boys to ski.
Italy.
Stand in the shadow of the Parthenon.
Memorize more scripture.
Worry less. (Improving…)
Laugh so hard my stomach hurts. More often.
Wake up to the sound of waves crashing under my window.
Take the boys to  Africa to see how the other half lives.
Bake cakes the old-fashioned way (from scratch!).
Learn to use WordPress.
Learn to use Twitter.
Launch a new writer/speaker website in 2011.
Become reknowned for my (insert name of one of one or two something or others: cheesecake. Pie.)
Play with the boys more often. Just play.
Turn off the TV and MAKE them go outside.
Be invited to speak at my alma mater.
Self host.
Get published in a national print magazine.
Complete a non-fiction book proposal.
Plant the rhododendron I bought six months ago.
Pilgrimage to Blacksburg, and then Maryland to Lisa Goodhart’s couch. Remember.
Divide the daffodils.
Speak at a women’s retreat.
Read three classic novels in 2012.
Blog thee times a week. At least.
Join a gym. (Keep going.)
Visit Washington DC with the kids.
Eat dinner at the table more than once a week.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    January 9, 2012 8:53 am

    Please, please, please come see me and we can remember!!! Seeing your dad a few years ago meant the world to me! Your parents had a HUGE influence on who I am today!!!! I will make tea and cookies and we will remember …Then I will take you to pick crabs Maryland style!!

  2. January 9, 2012 3:53 pm

    Such a cool list!!!

    So what 3 classic novels are sitting on your nightstand? 😉

  3. Tonya Power permalink
    January 9, 2012 7:42 pm

    I don’t know I would call it a classic novel, but Jerome K. Jerome’s “Three Men in a Boat” will make you laugh so hard you hurt. Just in case you haven’t discovered it yet.

Trackbacks

  1. What’s Your Happy? Keeping a Joy List | Adelle Gabrielson

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

